Passion Flower: Seven Stories of Derangement

by Cyrus Mistry

Rs 495.00 Rs 346.00 Save ₹149.00 (30%)


Author: Cyrus Mistry

Languages: English

Number Of Pages: 272

Binding: Hardcover

Package Dimensions: 8.8 x 5.7 x 0.8 inches

Release Date: 01-07-2014

Details: Product Description Award-winning author Cyrus Mistry's first collection of short stories is dark, mysterious and inhabited by characters that walk a thin line between fantasy and reality. A serendipitous discovery on the floor of a local bus transforms the melancholic life of Percy, who meets a ghost in the washroom of a public library, a new mother struggling with depression and the urge to end her newborn's life opens the door to a stranger, stalked by mysterious men, Jacintha believes her enemies are out to eliminate her because she knows too much, on New Year's Eve, an aged couple clashes, replaying an annual ritual that shrouds the unacknowledged secret buried between them twenty-three years ago, two childhood friends, now co-workers at an advertising agency, indulge in a never-ending display of one-upmanship, false camaraderie and intense, unspoken resentment, Bokha tries to counter the powerful black magic of his wicked old mother in order to shield his helpless lover, and Mahendroo, full of himself, is consumed by his obsessive search for an elusive species of Passiflora. Original and disturbing, Passion Flower is another triumph from one of the country's most gifted storytellers. Key Features: Cyrus Mistry is the author of Chronicle of a Corpse Bearer which won this year's DSC Prize for South Asian Literature, one of the subcontinent's most prestigious literary prizes. This is the author's first collection of short stories and it is sure to get a lot of attention in the media. The stories are unique and some of them offer a rare glimpse into the life of Bombay Parsees, something Cyrus is adept at writing about. About the Author Cyrus Mistry began his writing career as a playwright, freelance journalist and short-story writer. His play Doongaji House, written in 1977 when he was twenty-one, has acquired classic status in contemporary Indian theatre in English. One of his short stories was made into a Gujarati feature film. His plays and screenplays have won several awards. His previous works include the novels The Radiance of Ashes (2005) and Chronicle of a Corpse Bearer (2012), which won the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature 2014.